Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people consider that innate characteristics are responsible for the fact that some people choose to turn to a career of crime. However, I would argue that crime is a consequence of social issues and poverty. There is a belief that a person’s nature determines whether or not they become a criminal. Firstly, they argue that an individual who is cruel turns to crime more easily than a kind person. For instance, a child bullying other boys or girls at school may turn into a violent criminal in the future. Secondly, bad characteristics such as laziness or selfishness could also breed future offenders, who seek to acquire easy money without working for it. A number of youngsters choose to steal from others, instead of working hard to make an honest living. These are strong reasons for thinking that those who have an inborn bad nature are more likely to break the law. Nevertheless, it seems to me that social issues and poverty are the main causes of crimes. There are many problems in society which might lead to an increase in the crime rate. For example, unemployment pushes people interesting to crime because they simply cannot find a job. As a consequence, the number of offenders has climbed in many countries over recent decades. Another reason is that, more broadly, poverty, in general, leads to a rise in crime. If people do not have enough money to make ends meet, they will be tempted to pursue illegal activities just to support themselves and their families. In conclusion, while a number of people think that a person's nature is the primary cause of crimes, I would argue that they are the results of social issues and poverty.