Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic result, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether incentives should be offered to students who achieve the best learning performance or those showing great progress has been under discussion against distinct perspectives. While rewarding top students could be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that it is better to praise students who improve the most.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why high achievers should be rewarded. First, since students often desire to win prizes, adopting this approach could create a highly competitive learning environment amongst students. This will encourage them to endeavor to study attentively and labourously, aiming to get to the top of the class. Second, receiving scholarships or extra classes, outstanding students will have the chance to further nurture their abilities. For example, students with the best result in my high school were selected to participate in an extra class which prepared them for a national competition.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial to give encouragement to those who make great strides. One consideration is that every student could have an equal chance to receive rewards for their efforts. This motivates not only top students but ones who are closer to the bottom of the class to become better. If incentives are just given to high achievers, normal students may think that they are incapable of competing with more intelligent students at all. Additionally, the evaluation of learning results depending on improvement could promote learning for enjoyment and understanding, not for gaining high scores. This would reduce exam pressure and prevent students from cheating to score high marks.

In conclusion, although rewarding students with the highest scores have some advantages, I believe that giving encouragement to those progressing the most is a better option.