The gap between the rich and the poor is increasingly wide, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What are the solutions to address these problems?

It is true that there is a growing disparity between the wealthy and the poor in many regions of the world. Some negative impacts on individuals and society as a whole might be caused by this economic inequality, and effective solutions should be proposed to deal with these issues.

To begin with, there are some effects caused by the increasing gap between the two classes of society. The first impact is that the basic human need of many poor people is not guaranteed. Becoming poorer, parents are more struggling to make ends meet, and their children even do not have the chance to have access to proper education. In addition, the growth of the income inequality could lead to an increase in poverty. Consequently, this would result in the rise of the crime rate as impoverished people are more tempered to perform illegal acts such as robber or thief.

Several solutions should be implemented to tackle such problems. First, the government should require the wealthy to pay more income tax than the underprivileged. This can be done by employing a progressive tax system that imposes proportionately more tax on those with higher levels of income. Second, people from impoverished families should be provided with free education. Given the chance to study at university or vocational school, poor people could enhance their likelihood of having a better job to sustain their lives. Final, poor people who have the capacity for running their own businesses should be given financial subsidies from the government, which will help them to scale up their business. This, then, creates many jobs for other poor people.

In conclusion, the increase in income inequality between the rich and the poor is likely to lead to some negative impacts on individuals and society, and some measures should be carried out to address these problems.