Technology has developed very fast in the past 100 years. However, some people think that technological progress has brought negative effects on humanity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that the rapid development of technology over the last decade has resulted in an adverse impact on human life. While I agree that advanced technology has led to several disadvantages to some extent, I would argue that its positive side is greater.

On the one hand, there are some consequences arising out of technological progress. First, since a growing number of people, especially youngsters, have been more dependent on technology, more people might less likely participate in vital physical activities. For example, children addicted to online games are not really fond of outside activities. This tendency makes them more prone to the risk of developing some forms of diseases such as obesity and diabetes. Second, using social media namely Facebook and Twitter to replace face to face contact and communication in person could diminish human relation in real life. If people spend their time on social networks excessively, they might feel the sense of alienation.

On the other hand, the evaluation of technology undoubtedly facilitates the way people live these days. The first benefit is thanks to the internet connection and mobile technology, people find it easy to keep in contact with people who are some distance away. For instance, parents in Vietnam just need to pick up their smartphones to make a video call via the Facebook app in order to get in touch with their children studying overseas. Additionally, cutting-edge inventions positively influence a broad spectrum of vital sectors. This is exemplified by the advancement in medical technology in which robots can carry out surgeries which are more precise than ever before.

In conclusion, while there are some negative effects which are believed to be caused by technological process, I support the view that it has more beneficial impacts on humanity.