As computers translates quickly and accurately, Learning foreign languages is a waste of time, up to what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the last few years, this confusion is the first time rising that whenever needed, computers can help you to translate nonnative language to your native language accurately and within few seconds, so should one learn a foreign language? I believe that translation of a language to another is not enough to interact with someone or work with a foreign language.

In today’s technological era, it is very easy to access the internet from anywhere at any time. Moreover, this advancement has lead to an innumerable exchange of information. So mobile devices and computers have ample resources for lexical translations within moments. Because of that, if someone comes across any kind of material or article from an unfamiliar language, that can translate it to familiar language and utilizing the knowledge from the material. In this scenario, where someone does not interact with unaccustomed language frequently, it is a waste of time to learn a novel language.

However, because of technology, there is a huge mass of people who are working with people from various parts of the globe. And most of them are utilizing their skills to deliver the service, where they deal with more than one language daily. Whereas many other people need to talk to foreign people as well. In such situations, if one does not know the language they are dealing with and try to translate at every moment of interaction, it will not be feasible and it may create a delay in service.

To sum up, the above discussion, in my opinion, even though today’s technology affords the absolute translation of a language within a fraction of time, it is not sufficient when it comes to using that unfamiliar language frequently. And for that, one must learn that language explicitly.