Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and paintings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every year the government plans a budget for the country. Whether it should invest more in public services or provide funding for art is a debatable question. While many would agree with the later point, in this essay would provide arguments for why I majorly support the previous point.

While choosing the public services over art for financing, there are mainly two significant reasons which come to my mind. Firstly, the money the government possess is collected in the form of tax from the citizens, so it should be use according to their needs. For instance, the villages require improved infrastructure, education, hospitals, and if art attracts major funds then nothing would be left for all these needs. investing in public sector is important not only for the people of villages, but also for the betterment of the society as a whole. To clarify further, take an example of the METRO train in the cities with heavy traffic such as Mumbai, Bangalore, and Delhi, it has resulted in less time for commute and as consequence more productivity of the people.

There are some persuasive points left, that would cause me hesitate to give my 100% support for the arguments stated above. To begin with, music, painting and other forms of art reflect the culture of a country and by funding them, the government promotes its own culture, which results in increase of tourism. Moreover, it encourages more people to become experts in these fields, and as a consequence employment increases.

The above paragraphs provide balanced points for both the arguments, however, my opinion swings slightly more in the favor of the public services than of art. As a suggestion, while making the budget, the government should allocate more funds to general services more, while taking into consideration the advantages of investing in art.