Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Although riding a bicycle is clearly a better way to protect the environment than using other types of vehicles, not many people around the world prefer this means of transport. There are several causes of this unpopularity, and some solutions could be proposed to promote the usage of bicycles.

To begin with, there are several reasons why few people use bicycles to travel on a regular basis. Firstly, since modern life is getting much busier than in the past, individuals nowadays want to spend as little time on transport as possible. Therefore, they prefer to use other types of vehicles such as motorbikes or cars which would take less time. Secondly, cycling is more physically demanding than riding a motorbike or driving a car. This tends to discourage people from choosing this method, especially on a hot and sunny day or when they have to travel a long distance.

Several actions can be taken to increase the popularity of bicycles. The first solution would be to make it more costly to own a motorbike or a car. This can be done by increasing the price of petrol or raising tax on these vehicles. As a result, more people would choose bicycles as their primary means of transport. Additionally, more lanes should be built to serve only cyclists, which would make it much faster to travel with bicycles. The final solution is to launch campaigns to raise citizens’ awareness of the harmful effects of motorbikes and cars on the environment, and this could encourage people to cycle more often.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and solutions should be produced early to promote this environmentally friendly means of transport.