It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that learning about the history of their own countries is more important than that of the world. While the importance of local history is undeniable, I would argue that world history subjects also play an equally important role in school curriculums for children.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is necessary for children to learn about local history. First, local history lessons provide schoolchildren with insight into the local historical value, which fosters a sense of belongings and pride in each child. For example, studying to understand how their earlier generations found and made sacrificed for the freedom, youngsters would appropriate the liberty that they enjoy today. Second, because various aspects of customs are scrutinized via learning local history, students could not only preserve but transfer the best one to generations to come. If students do not understand their historical value enough, the customs stemming from historical event might fade away.

However, I believe that studying the history of other nations is as essential as that of their own nations. The first reason is that due to the modern trend towards globalization, schoolchildren need to have certain knowledge of other ethnic groups and different traditions. This could be achieved easier if students know more about the past development of other countries in the world. Additionally, armed with a broader perspective thanks to the process of learning world history, children could have an overview of how close international historical events connected to local history. In this way of learning, children would understand history more deeply and thoroughly.

In conclusion, while local history is crucial for children to learn, I believe that there are equal benefits in accessing world history.