It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teaching history to students plays a part in the transition of human knowledge from the previous generations to the future ones. With the world in such emphasis on globalization, many of us face an identity crisis which consequently leads us to look back on our origins. Personally, I believe that learning about regional history is more significant than global history.

Firstly, we must consider the potential negative aspects of taking local history for granted. For example, if a Kurdish student coming from Turkey is not aware of his past, culture, and ancestors, how can he define himself in the country discriminates between him and others and how would he maintain a balance between being a Kurd and a Turk. As a result, it is essential for many young individuals to learn about their local and ethnic history in an attempt to be able to address such identity conflicts. Furthermore, apart from that local history can make a considerable contribution to shaping our identities, it can create a strong sense of belonging to a community. This is because students are likely to be able to reach shared experiences and establish partnerships with their local community which leads to a more stable and unified society.

Admittedly, it is correct that learning global history could increase cross-cultural awareness and understanding, making people from the world over close and peaceful to each other. Nevertheless, this notion is significantly neglected when people from different backgrounds do not respect the differences that exist between them.

To summarize, I believe that prior to world history, local history should be incorporated as a part of the history curriculum for pupils.