It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The teaching of history to students plays a part in the transition of human knowledge form older generations to future ones. With the world in such emphasis on globalization and coalesce, many of us face an identity crisis, consequently leading us to revert to our origin. Personally, I feel that learning about regional history is preferable to global history, and I will explain why.

Firstly, we must consider the potential negatives of taking local history for granted. For example, if a Kurdish student coming from Turkey is not aware of their past, cultures, and ancestors, how they would define themselves in the country discriminates against them and how they would maintain a balance between being a Kurdish and Turkish. As a result, it is essential for many young individuals to learn about their local and ethnic histories in an attempt to be able to address such identity conflicts. Furthermore, apart from that local history can make a considerable contribution to shaping who we are, it can create a solid sense of community. This is because students are likely to be able to reach shared experiences and build partnerships with the local community, leading to a more stable and unified society.

Admittedly, it is correct that learning global history could increase cross-cultural awareness and understanding, causing people from the world over to be close and peaceful to each other. Nevertheless, this aspiration suffers significantly when confronted with the dearth of respect to differences among people with different backgrounds.

To summarize, I believe that prior to world history, local history should be incorporated as a part of the history curriculum for pupils.