Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theatres and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund?

Despite the fact that the arts account for a tiny proportion of state expenditure, state support for them is a highly contentious issue. However, the importance of cultural amenities has been appreciated by a large number of members of society because they represent cultural identity of a nation to some extent, but regarding this as the main priority to invest a significant amount of money may be a rather simplistic view since there are many other major issues should be dealt with.

Admittedly, it is correct that some government funds should spend on preserving and developing cultural amenities. This is because the arts are the main part of every nation's culture treated with great respect and considered to be sacred by almost all citizens. Therefore, without coordinated measures from the state and the public in an attempt to preserve cultural infrastructures and activities such as museums and cinema, national identity will continue to be forgotten, leading to a loss of cultural uniqueness. Furthermore, art festivals and theaters, for example, have an important impact on our quality of life, by which I mean they provide entertainment to the public and thus receiving great pleasure in taking part in such magnificent performances.

Foremost among these other areas appears to be the question of public services, by which I mean the development of a country is more likely to be connected with the investment of a lot of funds in public transportation, hospitals, and education. If this is not addressed, people potentially face the collapse of economic, social and educational structures, consequently leading to the collapse of the country as a whole. Therefore, a large amount of government budget should spend on crises such as infrastructures, poverty, and crime, encountering not only all underdeveloped countries but also many wealthy countries.

To conclude, it appears that sending public money on maintaining cultural amenities can be useful, as long as other challenging issues considered being as main priorities to be addressed.