All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning a second language plays a significant role in children's future life_ both personal and career lives. However, the issue of embarking on foreign language in the first grade of school is widely debated. It seems to me that learning a language other than the native language at an early age is essential, and I will explain why in this essay.

The main reason would appear to be the age itself. This means that learning a second language at an early age, learners can master the language faster and easier. Perhaps this is because children are able to acquire at pace rate in their early lives when their brains are more likely to be free of various concerns confronting adults. A further reason is learning a foreign language as a child not only can boost children's cognitive development such as problem-solving skills and creativity but slow the aging process in the brain as well. This argument is widely supported by a great deal of research, published by linguistics and language psychologists, shown that students studying a second language from entering school are much more successful in their lives as adults in terms of intellectual skills self-confidence than their counterparts starting the language from their middle school.

Admittedly, it is believed that taking a foreign language, for example, German by first-grade students can be quite overwhelming which ultimately can lead them to be loath to learn neither German nor any other new languages. However, this approach mostly relates to the teaching method rather than learning a new language in early years' education itself.

To summarize, it is logical to conclude that providing students with a foreign language curriculum in their early years of school brings about multiple benefits, including learning faster and improved cognitive capacity which surely outweighs its disadvantages such as academic pressure.