Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that people who commit crimes should serve longer terms in prison to decrease the crime rate. In my opinion, I agree that extending the prison time could be an effective measure. However, I also believe that education and vocational training should be applied simultaneously to tackle criminal issues.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why putting criminal into prison for longer terms could reduce the crime rate. First, because imprisonment acts as a deterrent, extending the time in prison could make more people who intend to commit crimes less likely to actually perform illegal acts. For example, more people could give up their illegal intention when they aware that such a criminal act will curtail their freedom. Second, sending serious criminals in prison for longer terms, the authorities will have more time to re-educate them, which is to ensure they would not return to crimes after being released back into society.

On the other hand, education and vocational training could be a practical method for lowering the crime rate. The first reason is that since many people become criminals due to the wrong perception of the law, education could help them to be able to distinguish between legal and illegal actions so as not to carry out illegal acts again. The other reason is that vocational training equips criminals with reasonable and sufficient knowledge, which enhances their likelihood of getting a job to earn money without working illegally for it. If they can not get a job, they will easily commit crimes again to make ends meet.

In conclusion, while I agree that the crime rate could be reduced if prison terms are increased, I believe that education and training should also be applied to deal with criminal problems.