More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

It is true that a growing number of youngsters from prosperous nations are willing to do voluntary work for a short time in underprivileged countries. There are several reasons for this trend, and I would argue that it equally benefits both these individuals and host communities.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why many young people decide to do unpaid work in poor nations. First, youngsters can accumulate enormous life experience and practical skills that they have not had the chance to gain at university. For example, their team-work skills would be significantly improved in the process of collaboration with other international volunteers. This precious experience would definitely help the youngsters to stand out amongst many candidates applying for a competitive job. Second, the voluntary efforts stem from the sense of global social responsibility, which encourages individuals to support others less fortunate than themselves without any demand for a reward.

I believe that both the host community and these young people benefit. Regarding the young, they benefit from the enormous real-life experience gained from oversea voluntary work. Without exaggeration, it is a life-changing challenge, and the youngster will return home with a much more mature and broader outlook on life. In terms of host nations, they can have an opportunity to raise the living standards of their inhabitants. To be more specific, the quality of public education could be improved, and many impoverished people will have the chance to own a house that they simply can not afford by themselves.

In conclusion, there are some clear reasons for this volunteering trend, and I concur with the idea that both the volunteers and host communities are the equal beneficiaries of the practice above.