More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

Recent years have witnessed a phenomenal growth in youngsters’ participating in voluntary work in developing countries. There are some reasons accounting for this phenomenon, and I am convinced that it would bring certain benefits to the host community as well as the volunteers.

With regard to the reasons, overseas volunteering could be firstly attributable to the young’s eagerness to broaden their knowledge about different parts of the world. For example, they could have a chance to do voluntary work in African nations, where indigenous people are suffering from the insufficiency of accommodations and sanitary conditions. Through these campaigns, the young volunteers would not only have a different perspective of the economic situation of certain regions, but acquire invaluable experience by giving aid and sharing hardships with the community as well. Secondly, volunteering is an occasion for young people to enhance soft skills such as communicating and cooperating, which probably would be advantageous in the future. For instance, the skills and volunteering experience could perhaps be merits when adding to CVs for youngsters, for this is a way to prove their enthusiasm and knowledge to the targeted company.

In light of the voluntary campaigns, I would argue that either the recipient nations or the volunteers would benefit. For the host communities, the provision of basic necessities and accommodations could somehow contribute to better living qualities. Besides, the children in these communities could get access to education via activities which teach them literacy and numeracy. When it comes to the benefits of the volunteers, by devoting time and effort to helping the communities, they would learn to appreciate the labor value, and also expand their social circle by cooperating with colleagues from different cultures. Moreover, the volunteering work would contribute to the young’s more mature perspective about life.

In conclusion, the young’s reasons for engaging in volunteering work abroad could be explained by the need to gain knowledge and valuable experience. I believe that these voluntary campaigns are beneficial to both the community receiving and the volunteers who devote their effort to helping people.