It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?.

In recent years, fewer students have preferred to study science subjects and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in many countries. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and I would argue that it has a serious negative impact on society.

Two important factors influence the decision of some students not to opt for science modules in school or university. Firstly, science subjects are widely perceived as demanding in terms of both workload and intellectual content. Thus, the reluctance of some students to embark on subjects such as biology, physics or chemistry, which they fear will be too challenging, is understandable. Secondly, it is true that in many Western countries, the public image of science and scientists is unglamorous. In popular TV programmes, for example, science students are portrayed as boring ‘geeks’, and this deters youngsters from taking up science as a career.

The effects of this trend on society are potentially grave. One significant problem may be that not enough qualified science students come through the educational system to supply the trained workforce that certain branches of industry require for their research and development purposes. This will, in turn, affect national economic expansion, essential for raising living standards. Another negative impact is the imbalance in the economy which results from the growing number of students who choose to take arts and humanities subjects rather than to study science. Almost certainly, this will result in rising unemployment among school leavers and graduates who have followed such courses. Surveys of graduate unemployment in the USA and Europe indicate that this is a real concern.

In conclusion, there are dangers in the increasing shift away from studying science subjects and the causes of this phenomenon should be addressed urgently.