Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different perspectives on whether extreme sports such as boxing or mountain climbing should be prohibited or not. While banning these sports could beneficial to some extent, I would argue that people should be free to such sports if they so wish.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why banning these sports could benefit citizens. First, since people who participate in these sports might expose themselves to serious injuries or even get killed. The danger of such sports can be exemplified in Vietnam where a foreign tourist has suffered from a severe injury since he had fallen down after trying to climb up to a craggy mountain. Hence, outlawing these sports is to guarantee the safety of citizens. Second, some extreme sports such as boxing represent violence, which somehow encourages aggressive behaviors of viewers.

On the other hand, I think that the government should not impose a ban on dangerous sports. One reason is that the risk of accidents and injuries can be minimized by putting on a range of essential sports gears which effectively protect those playing sports which are dangerous. That means it is unnecessary to ban these sports as participants can protect themselves. Additionally, people often undertake rigorous training for a long period to ensure that they are in the pick of physical conditions. This exercise not only reduces the risk of injuries but benefits people’s health. As a result, the government should allow the practice of dangerous sports to stimulate healthy lifestyle of citizens

In conclusion, although these sports might be accompanied by risks of injuries, I would argue that they should not be banned because the risks have been minimized and the practice of these sports benefits people’s health.