As the number of cars increases, more money has to spend on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is true that the increase in the number of cars leads to more budget required to improve road systems. While some people believe that the cost of road construction should be paid by the government, I would argue that it is better to charge car users.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why some people think that the government should bear this expenditure. First, citizens pay tax to form the government’s budget, which requires the government to allocate the money back for transport infrastructure so as to improve the living standards of citizens. Building more roads or broaden existing roads could lessen traffic congestions, and help citizens commute more easily. Second, in some countries, car buyers have already paid an exorbitant amount of tax to own and drive a car on the streets. Hence, it seems unfair to charge car owners for building roads. For example, the tax imposed on cars can account for up to 50% of car prices in Vietnam.

On the other hand, I believe that the cost of improving road systems should be incurred by car owners. One reason is that this cost could discourage citizens to own private cars, and they prefer to use public transport, such as buses or trains, to travel. This tendency will help to restrain the increase of cars on the roads, tackling traffic congestion and air pollution in major cities. Additionally, people have to pay for their consumption of water, electricity or gas, so roads are no different from any other public utility. Governments will then be able to prioritize expenditure on health and education.

In conclusion, the government should not provide public subsidies to maintain and improve road systems. Otherwise, the user should be made to pay.