People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been a common belief that study majors should not be decided by people's needs and desires but by potential jobs' requirements. From my perspective, I firmly support the second argument for some reasons detailed below.

First and foremost, people have always been indoctrinated and malnipulated by the idea of chasing a dream, so they gradually become less practical, resulting in a large number of people who are not well-equipped for jobs after graduation. Wasting time and efforts on improving impractical skills can lead to numerous unqualified workers. Moreover, a dreamy job might not financially productive. As a result, some people will find applying for a fixed job significantly challenging since they have prioritized their own personal interests over specific qualifications that are far different from their own.

On the other hand, it can be extremely difficult to realize a dream, except for the ones who are consistently willing to pay a price for it. It means that they will lose their competence to do ordinary work if they choose to entirely sacrifice for their own interests and skills. In addition, since the success rate is pretty low, it would become a truly gamble for those who bet their whole career on their interests. They would achieve many accomplishments in what field they chose, or they would lose everything.

All things considered, although following personal interests sounds glamorous, I strongly consider it too risky for my future. Above all, no matter if the choice is about personal need or future career requirements, it should be carefully and properly weighed.