Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age This is called peer pressure Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages

Peer pressure is defined as the influence of youngsters way of life and thinking caused by group of friends whom they interact with. This essay will agree that it brings about more negative effects to one’s life than positives owing to teen’s immaturity and their natural tendency to experiment harmful and unacceptable things.

Parents and teachers are continuously experiencing the drawbacks of peer group pressure on juveniles. In other words, it is widely accepted that this influence frequently gives rise to negative impacts on child’s life. For instance, even though teens do not want to smoke, drink alcohol or do drugs, they tend to do so as a consequence of influence of their peers on account of fear of rejection. Likewise, teen pregnancies and STDs (sexually transmitted diseases) are on the rise as a result of early involvement in unsafe sexual relationships due to peer pressure. Therefore, young people have s drive to adopt a lot of bad things, which are sometimes able to cause lifelong effects, from their close friends.

However, some may argue that peers can cause positive impacts on young people rather than negative effects. Of course, there may be some rare incidences where teens are propelled to do volunteering or to work hard to earn higher grades, however, these are extremely rare situations because immature children are highly unlikely to behave in this manner. Not only does their immaturity, but their natural tendency to do wrong things contributes to the disadvantages of peer pressure. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University in which they claim that 90% and 95% of teen pregnancies and drug addiction are caused by peer pressure respectively.

In conclusion, although peer groups positively impact on teens in extremely rare situations, it holds a huge number of negative effects because young people are not mature enough to separate good from bad and are naturally adopting wrong habits.