Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand, agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, the world has seen an alarming increase in the demand for energy consumption. However, as over-dependence on fossil fuels, especially coal power, poses a dire threat to the natural environment, we need to look for other categories of energy to replace it. In my opinion, nuclear power is not the most suitable choice to meet this demand mainly owing to its potentially disastrous consequences.

There are two main reasons why using nuclear energy carries a certain degree of risk to the local community along with surrounding habitat. First of all, given that there is only a small inconsiderate action, it still leads to a failure to comply with the safety procedure, and thereby a tremendous accident. This catastrophic incident takes a heavy toll on not only the surrounding ecosystem but also the health of local residents. Secondly, to build an entire nuclear power system, we need to meet certain requirements to ensure the safety, which is inevitably expensive and may cost a huge amount of national budget. Therefore, it can be concluded that nuclear power is a risky and extravagant choice.

Instead of promoting the idea of converting nuclear power into electricity, we should take renewable resources into account. To take solar power as a typical example. Thanks to the advent of modern technology, there are a variety of breakthrough inventions to optimize an almost unlimited source of solar energy. On top of that, unlike nuclear energy, solar power is explicitly environmentally friendly and does not have any hidden dangers to human life.

On the whole, yet nuclear power stations produce fewer greenhouse gas emissions in comparison with fossil fuels, but there are a number of better remedies to address the growing energy consumption worldwide, particularly renewable resources.