Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand, agree or disagree?

Some argue that nuclear power should be adopted as the major energy source to satisfy the world’s rocketing demand for electricity. In my opinion, nuclear power is indeed a relatively more appropriate choice, however, there are also potential danger involved.

Nuclear power has a major environmental benefit. Many nations have been using nuclear energy instead of coal-fired alternative sources to generate electricity, which is positive to the air quality and the climate, because nuclear plants do not emit gases conducive to global warming, acid rain, or urban smog. For example, in 2013, Chinese nuclear plants have avoided fifty million tons of CO2 emission that would result if the electricity were produced by fossil fuels.

In addition, nuclear energy has high productivity and no climatically and geographical limitations. Nuclear reactors, which only require a relatively small amount of land, utilize a small quantity of feedstock input (Uranium) to generate huge amount of energy continuously. By contrast, to obtain an equivalent renewable energy, an extensive solar farm or countless wind turbines and a much longer time are required, furthermore, these power plants have to be built on certain landforms and operated in suitable weathers.

However, it is undeniable that nuclear plants may be dangerous in some circumstances. The principal risks associated with nuclear power arise from radiation, which can penetrate deep inside human body to damage biological cells and thereby initiate a cancer. Nuclear leak may also occur during catastrophic natural disasters or because of human error. In 1986, a nuclear plant in Chernobyl, Ukraine experienced a tragic explosion due to operator error. This resulted in enormous international spread of nuclear leak, which is still radioactive after decades.

In conclusion, although the world should accept nuclear power as an energy source which is superior to other ones in many ways, it should also be noted that there are risks of this technology.