In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The transportation infrastructure of a country is very important. It is the essential part to make sure every activity of trading and working possible. In order to keep up and improve the system, a really large sum of money is needed. While some people think the government should improve the train routes for the new express trains between cities, there are good reasons why public transport should be considered as an important matter.

On one side, express trains should become one of the important ways of transportation in most countries. Express trains are the very high-speed trains that can reach a destination within hours, even minutes. Furthermore, it enables the ability to carry a large number of people and cargoes in a cheap, effective way. The cost to run a train system when compared to other types of public transport such as airplanes is relatively lower, so not only the government can use the saved cost to run and support other works, but also the operator and the residents can cut down the money need to be paid. Looking at an example, Singapore is a developed country, and the cost for a normal day to live is really high. Though, the cost to buy a single-trip ticket from the North to the South side of this nation is less than 1 Singapore Dollar. If we get there by taxi, the cost will be ten or twenty times higher.

On the other side, express lines are important, but not the most important. High-speed trains can only works if the length of the trip is far enough, or else the ratio of effectiveness to cost will be off. For a short trip, buses and taxis appears to be better due to convenient and price. Moreover, there are so many routes that even the really high-speed trains can’t do, especially the routes between 2 different continents or the Transatlantic route. Surely we can go to France from Russia by railway, but trains can’t show any advantages to beat airlines. They can’t be as fast as the metal bird, therefore the required time to travel long-haul is way more higher.

In conclusion, there are many good reasons both for and against. From my point of view, trains are important, but not the most, and the source of finance to maintain and develop each transportation system should be distributed equally.