In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether or not money should be used to build new railway lines or develop public transport systems. Recently, this phenomenon has been brought to public attention with people standing on two different sides.

On the one hand, proponents of the idea that funds had better be spent on making railway lines for fast trains tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, it is widely known that moving by very fast trains can save plenty of time for commuters. As a result, people living far from their workplaces will likely choose this kind of vehicle. Another compelling reason is that constructing railway lines not only helps residents move safer but also reduces traffic congestion. For example, fast trains can carry a large number of people during rush hour and there will be more space on the road. Consequently, people can move more easily and quickly than before.

On the other hand, I advocate for those who believe that using money to better existing public transport is essential. The primary rationale is that it is very cheap for dwellers to travel by bus or public bicycle. As a consequence, lots of students and pupils are keen on using them because they are affordable. Furthermore, public transport can extend to places where railways can not. This is because railways are fixed so they can not help people move right to the destinations they want.

In conclusion, both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, I believe that it will be better to spend money on developing public transport systems.