In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, when a number of types of transportation are increasingly appearing, it is often argued that whether investing in more railway lines or in better public transport is of the utmost paramount. While there are several benefits of constructing new ways for trains, I believe that public transport is worth enhancing.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that trains bring commuters different advantages. Firstly, faster trains help people save more time. For instance, students do not have to arrive at the station early in order to be punctual but spend time having breakfast. This also leads to the fact that their stress and the burden of having to be on time would be alleviated significantly. Additionally, as new railway lines are constructed, there will be more seats for travelers, resulting in a better traveling experience. To be more specific, it is recorded that an abundance of people have to stand on the train for their entire trip during peak hours, which can be somehow mitigated by using investments.

On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that public transport needs developing in the general interest of citizens. First and foremost, public vehicles, such as buses, are regarded as the most convenient among other transportation since their services are fundamental to use and do not require any complicated procedures. To give a clearer sight, compared to trains, students in Vietnam could use their ID cards for purchasing cheaper tickets in a more user-friendly way. Furthermore, it is apparent that train tickets are 10 times higher than that of buses, which means that people who are underprivileged might not afford even one for themselves.

To sum up, while there are some benefits of developing railway lines, I still hold the view that public transport like buses, for example, should receive more payments for better improvements.