Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports?

In this day and age, it is an irony that sports channels broadcasting women's competitions are fewer than men's. This phenomenon is caused by various culprits and to resolve this, TV channels should give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports.

There are plentiful reasons for inequality in the quantity of women's and men's sports programs on TV. First and foremost, according to recent research in several cities in Germany, the vast majority of sports channel viewers are men or boys. This means that they tend to watch sports competitions in which male players are on the court due to the common assumption that men's sports bring more excitement and thrill. Particularly, men are stated to be stronger and faster than women, leading to the fact that men's matches are more appealing. This results in another factor contributing to the dominance of male sports. Specifically, with the high demand of viewers, TV channels are inclined to broadcast only events relevant to men to maximize their ratings and profits.

However, I firmly hold the view that there should be equity in the broadcast time of men's and women's sports games. With respect to the most noticeable benefit, a better living standard in females' lives should be mentioned as it enables women to earn from the sports viewers' investment. To give a clearer view, recently, the national female football team of Vietnam has donated a large amount of money and presents from the home fans, which brought them both mental and physical encouragement. Besides, this will be a significant step in the progress of enhancing gender equality in society if TV channels pay more attention to female sports events.

In conclusion, there are ample contributions to TV men's sports programs nowadays accounting for a large proportion. While this seems to have some advantages, I believe that it is mandatory that female and male sports games be given equal broadcasting time.