Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports?

In this day and age, it is an irony that sports channels broadcasting women's competitions are fewer than men's, which is caused by various culprits. In my opinion, TV channels should allocate equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports.

There are myriad reasons for the inequality in the quantity of women's and men's sports programs on TV. First and foremost, according to recent research in Germany, the vast majority of sports channel viewers are men or boys. This means that they tend to watch sports competitions in which male players are on the court due to the common assumption that men's sports bring more excitement and thrill. Particularly, men are said to be stronger and faster than women, leading to the belief that men's matches are more appealing. In addition, broadcasting more sports events of men in the interest of the viewers might also significantly maximize the channels' ratings and profits.

However, I firmly hold the view that equity in the broadcast time of men's and women's sports games is compulsory. With respect to the most noticeable benefit, a better living standard in females' lives should be mentioned as it enables women to earn from the sports viewers' endorsement. To give a clearer view, recently, the national female football team of Vietnam has been donated a large amount of money and presents from the home fans since they won SEA Game 32, which brought them both mental and physical encouragement. Besides, this will be a remarkable step in the progress of enhancing gender equality in society if TV channels pay more attention to female sports events.

In conclusion, ample contributions are inducing more TV men's sports programs on the air. While this seems to have some advantages, I believe that it is mandatory that female and male sports games be given equal broadcasting time.