Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports?

In this day and age, it is an irony that sports channels broadcasting women's competitions are fewer than men's. This phenomenon is caused by various culprits and to resolve this, TV channels should give equal time to women’s sports and men’s sports.

There are numerous reasons for inequality in the quantity of women's and men's sports programs on TV. First and foremost, due to recent research in several cities in Germany, the vast majority of sports channel viewers are men or boys. This means that they tend to watch sports competitions in which male players are on the court in view of the common assumption that men's sports bring excitement and thrill. Particularly, men are usually thought to be physically stronger and faster than women, leading to the fact that men's matches are more appealing. This results in another factor contributing to the dominance of male sports when TV channels are inclined to broadcast only events relevant to men to maximize their ratings and profits.

However, I firmly hold the view that there should be equity in the broadcast time of men's and women's sports games. This would be a significant step in the progress of building gender equality in society when the airtime of women is relatively the same as men. With respect to the most noticeable benefit, a better living standard in females' lives should be mentioned as it enables women to earn from the sports viewers investment. To give a clearer view, recently, the national female football team of Vietnam has donated a large amount of money and presents from the home fans, which brought them both mental and physical enjoyment.

In conclusion, there are ample contributions to a large number of TV sports programs nowadays associated with men. While this seems to have some advantages, I believe that it is mandatory that female and male sports games be given equal broadcasting time.