In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

With the advance of high-speed railway technology, people in some countries argue that spending a large amount of money on constructing such railways between cities is necessary. However, others disagree and believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

The main reason for endorsing the construction of high-speed railways between cities is that the economy could be boosted by more efficient long-haul cargo transport and leisure traveling. In many industrialized cities, factories need raw materials from distant regions to operate. With the help of high-speed railways, the productivity of local industries would be significantly improved. Similarly, for tourist cities that rely heavily on the revenue from the service sector, such railways may encourage more visitors to travel there. As a result, the unemployment rate could be reduced and the local residents' standard of living could be improved. However, building high-speed railways is a costly and time-consuming project, which may put pressure on the local government and taxpayers.

On the other hand, existing public transport plays an important role in urban commuting and should not be ignored. Many city dwellers rely on public transport like buses and subway to go to work or school, while public transport facilities in some cities are out-dated and need refurbishment. By spending money on improving the existing transport system, people can benefit from enhanced mobility and less traffic congestion. In addition, the project on improving public transport is cheaper and requires less time to finish. People can witness the improvement of public transport in a nearer future, compared with constructing new railways.

In my opinion, while building high-speed railways can benefit industrialized and tourist cities in some aspects, existing public transport is also important for city residents. The public money should be spent fairly on both types of programs and decisions should be made based on the actual situations of different cities.