In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that spending money on building new railroads is a good idea while there are others who insist that it is better to use it for current public transport. In my opinion, I believe that money is essential for mending public transit because of the reasonable ticket and construction fee.

To start with, it is possible to argue that a large amount of money should be spent on the installation of high-speed railway. Firstly, traveling by train is absolutely faster than public transport because it helps workers living far from their workplace commute easily. Take an example, it takes around one hour and a half to go from downtown of Hanoi to Vinh Phuc city by bus whereas just 30 minutes by train with the same distance. Besides, this rail transportation system can enhance the development of cities. Not only do humans travel faster but also goods will be shipped quickly.

On the other hand, the idea that money is vital for public transportation is supported by a lot of people due to a number of positive effects. It is obvious that commuting by public means is affordable, so all classes can access and use this type of transportation. For instance, laborers with low salary could not afford to commute by trains every day since the ticket is quite costly while they have to spend money on a range of costs in their lives. Another point is that the government needs large sums of money to construct the train network. In other words, these kinds of projects have a history of costing far more than their original budgets. On the contrary, improving existing transportation for the public does not require too much financial resources. Therefore, the government can use the funds for a lot of other purposes like medicine and education.

In conclusion, although it is true that there are various benefits when money is used for building rail systems, I think the government should spend this fund on current public transit.