In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

In some countries, some people opine that it is better to use money for building rapid train railway lines while others think that the money is better to be used for bettering current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter view because of several reasons.

On the one side, rapid train is advantageous in reducing traffic jam because it has swift speed and special railway which make its passengers arrive earlier than they usually do. Therefore, spending money for creating more rapid trains railways will support more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that operate, the more likely for people to switch from their private transportation to rapid trains, which will then overcome the traffic congestion problem. However, because rapid train usually has expensive fare, the possibility for people to switch from their private vehicles will be low. Finally, traffic congestion problem will not be overcome by the existence of many rapid trains.

On the other side, existing public transportation such as Bus and MRT also have potential to make people switch from their own vehicles. By bettering its facilities and conditions, people will be interested to ride them instead of driving their own transportation. Moreover, current public transportation such as Bus and MRT usually have reasonable fares which make people to be willing to ride them. As a result, spending money for improving existing public transportation is better because it has bigger possibility in reducing traffic congestion.

In conclusion, using money for constructing new rapid train railways is great because it will support more rapid trains to operate which will result to the reduction of traffic jam. However, because it has more expensive fare compared to existing public transportation such as Bus and MRT, I completely agree that it is better to use the money for bettering current public transportation which has bigger possibility in reducing traffic jam.