In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Disucss both thes

There is an argument whether a country government should use huge amount of money to build new railway lines for rapid train or to upgrade the current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter that the money should be used for bettering the current public transportation.

On the one side, some people believe that spending money to establish railway lines for rapid train is essential, because it can support more rapid trains to operate. If there are more rapid trains that operate, the traffic congestion problem will be overcome faster because people will choose rapid train over their personal transportations. However, because of the cost of developing rapid train and its railways are expensive, citizens will most likely being charged with high-priced fare. As a result, citizens will still choose their personal transportations over rapid train and the traffic congestion problem will not be solved.

On the other side, some people opine that using money to improving the current public transportations is better than spending it for rapid train. This is because, the price of current public transportations such as bus and MRT are more affordable if compared to the price of riding a rapid train. Thus, improving the public transportations to help to solve the traffic congestion problem because citizens will not be charged with overly expensive fare. As a result, they will most likely to switch from their personal transportations to public transportations and the traffic congestion problem will be gradually overcome.

In conclusion, I completely agree that a huge number of money should be used for upgrading current public transportations, because the fare to ride current public transportations (such as bus and MRT) are more affordable than the price to ride rapid train, so citizens will most likely be willing to switch from their personal transportations which will overcome the traffic congestion problem.