In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some that it is essential to expenditure much money on building new high-speed rail networks between other cities. In my opinion, however, they should pour money into improving current public transport.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that the government should invest to construct new bullet trains. The first reason is saving a large amount of time. People of today live far from the city centers because of the cost of accommodation. Thus, Fast transport could citizens more travel to centers. Another reason is contributing money to the social economy. This is because high-speed rail allows people to travel at much lower prices than flights and in a faster time than traditional trains. Such fast, inexpensive travel could encourage citizens more visit other cities.

On the other hand, I would argue that upgrading existing public transport is more important. Unlike high-speed trains, that connect cities, public transport enables people to travel within the city. Private vehicles are more comfortable, but they cause a great deal of pollution. A lot of people have recognized this and want to reduce air pollution. If the government invests to upgrade public transport systems that already exist, more and more people will want to use it. For instance, they can add more public transport routes to more areas in the cities.

In conclusion, although some people think that it is important to spend a lot of money on high-speed rail. In my opinion, however, they should enhance current public transport.