In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

Thanks to the development of technology, high-speed trains have been introduced to the public in the modern society. Some people argue that it is necessary to invest huge amount of money on facilities for this new type of trains, however other people insist that rather than high-speed trains, existing public transport should be invested that amount of money. I will deal with my own opinions after treating both of views.

To begin with, very fast trains are valuable enough to be invested since various people from different fields can benefit from them. Firstly, people who have to commute for a long distance to a different city everyday would shorten their commuting time significantly by taking a high-speed train. Reduced moving time would cause the increase in their quality of life. Secondly, workers in delivering goods industry would improve their work efficiency if very fast trains are constructed with enough amount of money. For example, if someone had to convey their goods to sell to other cities with a limitation of time, a state of the art train would be the most safe and fastest option for them to complete their work. Therefore, In the regard that this new trains would fasten the way we live and work, they have to be constructed even with large sums of money.

On the other hand, it is also true that there are necessities to improve existing public transport. The main reason of improving public transport is the concern for safety. In some countries, old public transports are causing many safety problems such as broken escalators. Since they might result in the serious incidents among people who take transport, financial support is needed to repair the old facilities. Furthermore, facilities for transports have significant sanitary problem in some countries. For instance, the trains in New York are famous for dirty and smelly platforms and it is evident that certain amount of money must be spent on improving their sanitary status. Hence, since there are some public transports which need financial support, it is not right to invest this money on high-speed trains.

In my opinion, if any existing public transport has problems to be solved with large sums of money, improving that existing public transport should be prior to building railways for very fast trains. Otherwise, it seems to me that investment on high-speed trains would be the good choice resulting in various advantages.