In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As many cities undergo unprecedented traffic problems, the debate about whether money should be spent on building new fast railways between cities or improving existing public transport has turned hot, in a bid to seek a recipe. I will discuss both views in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, interconnecting cities with new fast railways is oriented to divert traffic out of the city. Well known for its efficiency, safety and comfort, fast train makes it possible for commuting between neighboring cities. It looks intuitively appealing for those who seek a career in a big city but expect to get around the soaring housing prices and over-crowding traffic problems. In this way, people would live in an adjacent city, take a fast and comfortable short trip on a daily basis in and out of the city. Seemingly, this will result in fewer traffic in the inner-city area and mitigate the traffic pressure.

However, this approach is questioned by many opponents for its extremely high cost and uncertain effectiveness, and they suggest investing in the existing public transport system. In fact, the huge amount of money required by building fast train system is more than sufficient to help to overhaul existing road networks and upgrade public transport vehicles, all of which are with no doubt the most frequently used infrastructures in the urban area where majority of the population live in any case.

One additional but more overwhelmingly argument is that, it is highly suspected that the fast train solution, rather than offload the urban traffic pressure to suburbs, on the contrary, may worsen the situation. If given a “convenient bridge”, those who are working in adjacent smaller cities around may turn into job hunters in the big city, and a surge of extra commuters would be likely inevitable. Thus, improving local public transport, which helps in either case, should take precedence over the other.

Based on the analysis above, it makes more sense to develop the existing public transportation first. The fast train interconnection is however the trend and meets the increasing demands of fast transferring between cities. Ideally, having both in a rational proportion would be the best.