The obesity rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many developed countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggestions.

The rate of obese teens is rising every year, especially in various developed countries due to the consumption of junk foods and a sedentary lifestyle. The issue is becoming a problem not just in the family but also in the community. So, this should be given importance so that teenagers will not suffer the consequences of being overweight.

Firstly, one of the reasons that teenagers are becoming obese because of the availability of cheap fast food that sometimes is addictive especially for this age group. Sometimes it is overlooked by parents and the youngsters are having difficulty to understand the possible effects of gaining extra weight that can possibly lead to illnesses. The guidance and support of parents play a vital role so that they will be taught on what foods should be avoided and they should inculcate on their brain the importance of eating fruits and vegetables instead of processed food. For instance, teenagers that are attending classes, parents should healthy meals that will be brought at school so that they will not be tempted to buy from any fast food chains.

Moreover, another major reason that teenagers are prone to obesity because of a sedentary lifestyle in which they prefer video games and television instead of doing outdoor games. A recent study by "The Times" found out that 80% of teenagers preferred playing video games with their friends instead of playing in the park. Due to this kind of passive activities, chances are their bodies will not be active because they are just sitting in the couch and their metabolism will be slower, hence, higher chances of gaining extra weight will be evident. This time, community organization should provide fun learning activities that will involve the presence of youths that are fond of playing gadgets. For instance, during summertime, they should conduct seminars regarding proper nutrition and that should have exciting games so that teens will not get bored and at the same time they will be knowledgeable about the essence of keeping fit to avoid obesity. In this way, they will also understand that being obese will not just have an adverse effect on their physical appearance but also will affect their mental, emotional, and psychological aspect.

In conclusion, gaining weight is not supposed to be a problem if it will not double the ideal body weight of a teenager. However, in order to prevent this to happen, proper guidance from parents and concern citizens in the community should be transparent always so that this age group will always consider the consequences of being obese.