Many people believe that international tourism is bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

A group of individuals consider foreign tourism has more negative effects in a society rather than positive impacts. Certainly, there are several reasons behind developing negative attitude towards international tourism. However, by taking some steps, views of people can be changed.

The opponents of international tourism may argue that tourists cause pollution and can damage the environment. Tourists’ destinations are more polluted in comparison to other areas in a country. Foreign visitors often get criticised due to their irresponsible behaviour towards a host country. Many times tourists get caught throwing litter here and there. This excess of littering disturbs local residents. Furthermore, tourists do not always respect beliefs and customs of different culture. Foreign travelers may hurt the feelings of local people due to poor understanding of others’ beliefs. What is more, sometimes youngsters get influenced by tourists. The country may lose its own values and sense of identity.

Nevertheless, with the help of government this situation can be tackled. First of all, the government should explain the benefits of international tourism which helps in boosting the foreign revenue of any country. During their stay, travelers spend a hefty amount on accommodation, transportation, meals and many other facilities. This way local people earn a good amount. International tourism not only provides monetary support but also generates employment in a society. By having negative attitude towards foreign tourists, is a loss of people only. Moreover, the government can provide the guidelines to tourists just after their arrival in any country. . The government should have proper advertisements and banners for spreading important knowledge. There should be a list of rules and regulations can be given to them so that activities by tourists can be performed accordingly

To conclude, there is no doubt that tourism is a back bone of any economy at this point of time. However, with the involvement of the government people’s negative attitudes can be changed towards the foreign travellers. Simultaneously, the government can raise the awareness among tourists also to protect the local habitat.