The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and believe. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing the younger generation for modern life. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary life, many people think that the old generations are inclined to have conventional notions about the way people should live, think and behave. While others assume that these old thoughts are ineffective to be provided for younger generations. In some aspects, the traditional ideas do not bring out benefits for the young due to the change and innovation of society, however, I personally think customary perspectives of the elderly play an unshaken role in preparing for younger generations’ life.

To commence with, it is irrefutable that conventional notions from the old generation are not helpful. In particular, many of the ideas are less relevant for younger people, since conventional beliefs and attitudes towards gender roles around relationships or career choices are not appropriate to today’s people. For example, traditional roles of men and women as breadwinners and housewives are no longer accepted by younger people. Therefore, some thinking of the previous generation seems to be obsolete and useless for the youngster.

However, I still assert that the traditional ideas of the elderly about how people should live, think and behave do wonders for the young. To elaborate, some traditional views and values are still applicable to the modern world. Were young people to have a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense toward life and the way to lead it, they would have happier lives. For instance, older generations attach great importance to working hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, so these behaviors do good to young people in today’s competitive job market. Undoubtedly, the standard principles passed from generation to generation are not faded over time.

To recapitulate, albeit the young can not make use of the traditional notions in some sides, I still believe these notions make substantial contributions to the young’s life.