The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people
should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas
are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what
extent do you agree or disagree with this view?
It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem
incompatible with the needs of younger people. While I agree that some traditional
ideas are outdated, I believe that others are still useful and should not be forgotten.
On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are
becoming less relevant for younger people. In the past, for example, people were
advised to learn a profession and find a secure job for life, but today’s workers
expect much more variety and diversity from their careers. At the same time, the
rules around relationships are being eroded as young adults make their own choices
about who and when to marry. But perhaps the greatest disparity between the
generations can be seen in their attitudes towards gender roles. The traditional roles
of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as
necessary or appropriate by most younger people.
On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable to the
modern world. For example, older generations attach great importance to working
hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, and these behaviours can
surely benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other
characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good
manners. In our globalised world, young adults can expect to come into contact
with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever
to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier
lives if they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighbourliness.
In conclusion, although the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in
today’s world, we should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.