Older people often say that their life was better in the past than it is now Do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is amazing how much the world has changed over the last century. Many people have wondered whether the ordinary ones in the past had a better life than modern citizens or not. It seems to me that new scientific discoveries and technological advancements have made various aspects of our life much easier than they used to be in the past.

In the first place, in comparison with life in the past, education has been experiencing considerable changes. Instead of entering only traditional classes, learners and educators can take great advantage of the Internet in their learning and teaching. In particular, the Internet supplies different sources of educational references such as websites, videos, online classes, and so on. Accordingly, students can search for further information on the Internet when they need to know.

In addition, technological advancement has made a great contribution to increase people’s standard of living. Clearly, modern modes of transportation not only help people travel easier and faster but also foster globalization, leading to a developing global economy, and set up more companies and plants. As a result, the rate of unemployment has decreased dramatically, which means that people nowadays have better lives than those in the past.

As opposed to the above views, it is believed that there is a striking difference in the quality of the environment between lives in the past and present. In other words, the environment has been affected negatively due to scientific developments such as cars, factories, and industrialization. People today have to face a number of problems related to pollution such as diseases, water shortage, and the like. Having said that, scientists have still been researching to solve the problems, and in fact, many ways have been applied to prevent pollution so far.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to living in modern society to some extent, a variety of positive changes have been generated by technological and scientific inventions, which clearly make people’s lives much better than those many years ago.