Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Providing accommodation has always been a controversial debate since industrialization era. One may consider government as a responsible for providing house for the society while others disagree with this statement. I completely agree with the claim and I will explain my reasons.

One of the main duties of government is providing house for all the society in reasonable price by taking advantage of different policies. In term of financial issues, authority may reduce tax in constructing house to encourage entrepreneurs to be more active in this industry. The money would be attracted by activities which could earn more benefits. In order to limit abuse of the situation, parliament may introduce laws to restrict all exploitation. As an example, building constructors may avoid selling their houses to increase the cost. However, government could impose fine for empty houses to alleviate any consequences.

On the other hand, one may claim that government could not overcome housing shortage in construction companies do not follow according government’s policy. In order to reject this claim it should be noted that government has authority and reasonable budget to cancel out any detrimental activities. For instance in this case, even if tax policy could not tempt constructors to work in housing field, government could invite foreign constructors for this purpose.

According to aforementioned reasons, government by enforcing law and incentive actions could entice industrialists to invest in housing industries in metropolitan cities and restrict any misuse of rules. Thus, I totally agree that government actions play a vital role in addressing housing scarcity.