In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Sentiments diverge on whether the transition in the pure purpose of shopping from a daily task to a kind of entertainment could bring some adverse impacts on buyers. Although some advocate this vantage point as a negative trend, I am at loggerheads owing to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, shopping currently is considered by far the most effective approach to retrieve stresses and strains. It is a woeful fact that almost all women in the past were required to undertake every house chore from cleaning to preparing meals; therefore, going shopping was just a means of getting adequate supply for a whole family. This led to the pressure for them to finish this frequent task as soon as possible. By contrast, things turn out differently in this modern eporch. Browsing in distinct shopping malls or supermarkets is regarded as a magical method to unwind and pamper buyers after days of hard work. During their shopping time, they can freely choose and try any necessary items without worrying about time or deadlines. That is the reason why modern people on the whole express their satisfaction with their life more than the old generation.

Further and even more importantly, purchasing as a hobby is of its paramount importance to create a positive living style. There is no denial that people, especially women, find myriad obstacles in enlarging their social relationships, which attributes to the ignorance and anti society. On the other hand, no longer is it arduous for them to be open and approachable since they have someone who shares the similar interest. Hence, instead of staying secluded, people in this day and age are more sociable and active in light of being shared joy and sorrow with. My mother used to be an exemplary model of a striking wifehouse who did not go out more than an hour except for vital business. Fortunately, she currently becomes an absolute version due to the pleasure from shopping time with her neighbouring friends.

By way of conclusion, changing the obsolete perspective regarding shopping’s aim is easily a positive development.