In the past, sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break the world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Many years ago, breaking a record or being the championship was the main motivation of any sports players when they attended a tournament. However, nowadays, it seems like some of them currently switch their desire into being renowned or getting money. This phenomenon obviously affects not only the spirit of sports but also the attitude of the young generation.

Firstly, the negative impacts of this trend on sports themselves are unavoidable. When sports players become famous, their training will definitely be interrupted a lot by an abundance of things that have nothing relating to their major, for instance, doing the advertisement videos, going to the events, being the model for a brand, etc. Moreover, if their priority is just the money, they will compete unfairly with the other athletes or even arrange the result. It will certainly leave a terrible image among the viewers and they will no longer believe in the fairness of sports.

In addition, young people are also affected by this phenomenon undoubtedly. They will assume that the world is not even-handed in all aspects. It makes them lose their hope and become unconfident about themselves as they think that they cannot reach any success even though they work really hard. As a result, the later generation will become a materialistic society, in which people will just only focus on how much they get, how popular they are but not how perfect their work is.

In conclusion, from the above arguments, the drawbacks of this trend are undeniable. Thus, we have to improve this bad attitude to bring back the real competitive spirit of sports as soon as possible.