People aim to achieve balance between their work and lives

Why?

How to overcome it?

In contemporary society, many people’s intentions are to maintain harmony between their professional and personal lives. This phenomenon begs the question of what might be the principal causes and how to resolve its repercussions.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the contributors to such an increasing trend vary from intrinsic factors, namely a self-awareness of its negative outcomes, to extrinsic factors, such as the influence of social networks, which guide people to change their lifestyle. Firstly, in terms of intrinsic factors, many are well aware of the various unfavorable impacts of the unbalanced lifestyle when they have been suffering overwhelming and depressing feelings, which severely affect not only their productivity but also their mental health. Secondly, the subtle influence of social networks should not be overlooked as people tend to be affected by their surrounding environment. If people are surrounded by those who perceive that achieving work-life balance is of paramount importance, the likelihood of us sharing the same insight would gradually increase.

Nevertheless, nothing is unresolvable if appropriate and proper approaches are taken into account, two of which I find the most effective and noteworthy. The first one is to list out things that need attention and set priorities for each. To be more specific, the practice of attempting to tackle the most urgent tasks might prevent us from feeling overloaded as we are fully aware of when to spare no effort. Another striking measure is to set low expectations as it might result in unsatisfaction preventing us from achieving fulfillment in our lives. The important thing is to know when enough and start to spend quality time reinforcing our cement relationship and recharging our battery.

In conclusion, no matter what causes us to achieve work-life balance, it is true that its repercussions are significantly profound. However, setting priorities for our workload and lowering our expectations are likely to be optimal solutions.