People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the aging population has many advantages for business, government and society in general. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the longer life span of human can generate many thorny issues. Nevertheless, others suggest that this can also bring many benefits to business, government and society. This essay discusses both views and features my opinion.

There are reasons why many people think that the aging population is a problem. First of all, it adds pressure on the welfare state when budgets are stretched thin when the greying population drives up medical and pension payments. Secondly, people live longer may lead to a higher retirement ages, which means people would be in the labour market for a longer duration. If the world of work fails to create new jobs, this takes a toll on youth employment prospects.

On the other hand, other people believe in the benefits that the aging population can create. From a business perspective, companies can capitalize on products and services that cater for elder. More importantly, our ageing population can be an economic powerhouse, which undoutedly benefits any government. In the longevity economy, more people can take part in economic activities and spend money, which is positive for economic growth. For society, since older people are a living museum of old values and traditions their longer life expectancy helps survive good values and traditions which always face the risk of being neglected.

In conclusion, I believe the longer life pose challenges to the earth which is already a crowded place. However, this is an irreversible trend which also carries with it many benefits.