People believe that air travel should be restricted because it cause serious pollution and used up the world’s fuel resources.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that restriction should be put on air flight due to its adverse impacts on the environment such as causing pollution and consuming a great amount of fuel. Personally, although I admit that air travel do harm to our environment, i still hold the view that the use of airplane should not be limited because of its huge advantages.

The first benefit of air travel is that it enables intercultural exchange. The advent of planes makes it possible for people to travel to many continents across the globe with the fastest movement among all kinds of transportation. As a result, people have opportunities to learn from different cultures and have better understanding of the countries they are not familiar with,and also introduce their own countries’ culture and tradition to foreigners, which consequently helps break the cross-cultural barrier between nations in the world.

Improving international tourism is another positive impact of aviation. In other words, air travel is the main factor attracting foreign visitors, contributing to the developments of the economies. This is because unlike other transportations like ships which takes travellers about one week to get the destinations, airplanes enable people to get the same place just within one day so as a result they will choose planes to speed up the time travelling and reach the destinations as soon as possible.

Some advocates of restricting air travel argue that air flight have adverse impacts on environment such as releasing exhaust emission and burning a great amount of fuel which will make the world’s fuel running out of. From my point of view, restriction is not the optimal choice, instead we could produce environmentally-friendly and fuel efficient engine to curb harmful effects and take full advantage of air travel as well.

In conclusion, i am strongly against the view that the use of air travel should be limited because aviation brings us a large number of positive effects such as intercultural exchange and international tourism. And also an alternative measure should be taken to mitigate the disadvantages of travelling by air.