People can eat a wide range variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world of globalization, people now can buy food that is produced from other regions easily. For this reason, imported products are being consumed more than local products. From my point of view, I truly believe that there are some obvious advantages of this trend but its drawbacks are also undeniable and cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, I concur that consuming food which is grown from many different places can have some main positive effects. Firstly, consumers will have a wide range of choices from many food manufacturers who can provide them a variety of food instead of seasonal products from local companies. Taking some Western countries as a prime example, with the cold and dry weather here, planting and harvesting coffee is simply impossible, however, people here still can enjoy coffee-related products that are imported from tropical countries like Vietnam. Secondly, buying products from other areas can also boost the foreign trade between the two regions not only in economic ways but also in cultural ways.

On the other hand, I am also convinced that imported food can sometimes be too expensive due to taxes and delivery fees, which often make it unaffordable for some people. Moreover, there are now so many unauthenticated imported products in the market whose quality is not guaranteed. Besides, many foods that are transported long distances need to be treated with chemicals and preservatives, consuming this type of food can cause negative effects on people’s health. In addition, this biased consuming behavior can lead to undeveloped domestic food industry and thus, traditional products with their cultural value will gradually disappear.

In conclusion, while I agree that eating a wide variety of food manufactured from different regions can provide people with positive impacts, its disadvantages are also irrefutable.