People now tend to move to the big cities to find the jobs. Discuss the causes and effects of this trend. Write at least 250 words.

Today, people in the country, especially the young ones, have a tendency to move to big cities. There are many reasons for this trend, but the main reason might be the better job market there. This movement do have some major influences on the cities they move to.

It is clear that where there are more people, there are more jobs, let alone the fact that facilities, industrial zones, companies in cities are much more plentiful and developed than those in the countryside. Therefore, people could have much more job opportunities and higher income in the cities.

Another motivation behind this tendency is the changes in agriculture in the rural areas. With the development of science and technology, modern farming requires less man power which can be easily replaced by new machines. Innovative agricultural methods are also much more prolific while labors are less needed. This leads to the lack of job opportunities in the rural areas today, pushing people, especially the young ones, to move to cities in search of jobs.

Besides the advantages of moving to big cities which is mentioned above, this trend could cause several major effects in cities: environmental issues, traffic problems, declined social infrastructure, unemployment and society’s vices.

Large population in cities, especially the big ones, is very like to cause pollution and the lack of resources for the living of people there. In many modern cities, the citizens must endure a lot of health problems relating to the air and water pollution. Collecting and processing garbage in some cities are not implemented properly, leading to other environmental problems. Clean water and energy resources for daily activities as well as manufacturing could have become inadequate in many cities in developing countries.

When there are more people, citizens in large metropolitan areas have to face with a lot of traffic problems every day. They are the traffic jams and accidents, which seems to be the effects of highly dense population. The movement of people to cities also put more pressure on the social infrastructure like roads, bridges, buildings, …, leading to the rapid deterioration of them.

It is evident that job opportunities are more available in big cities, but too many people competing in limited areas may lead to unemployment. Besides, not all people moving to cities are qualified enough to find a good job there, thus some of them end up working in industrial zones or making a living by manual works, or even worse: being jobless. The inefficient facilities, pollution, and unemployment could cause many society’s vices which are troubling both the governments and citizens in cities.

In the new era of science and technology, the movement of people who are in search for jobs in cities is inevitable. They do contribute to the development of cities, but this trend also posts some threats to the life in cities, which requires the cooperation of both the governments and all citizens to handle.