People say total lockdown need to continue in Hanoi and Vietnam to fight Coronavirus. Others think that it is time for easing restrictions for economic recovery. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world is living in a very difficult and unprecedented situation caused by Coronavirus. Among many solutions taken to flatten the contagious curve, social distancing has been popular in many countries. How to balance between full lockdown for health protection and partial restrictions for social and economic activities has been a heated debate. My essay below dicusses both arguements and forms my point of view.

On the one hand, social distancing has been effective in flattening the curve in many countries. Wuhan is the first city in the world to go into lockdown due to the Coronavirus. Chinese government ban worked well in isolating patients for treatment, limiting virus spread out, and stoping importation of new cases from outside. The whole province of Hubei, including its capital city is slowly returning to something that might be described as normal after monhts of fear and anxiety. The case of Wuhan and China broadly has been followed my most of big cities and countries across continents. Hanoi, after a steady increase of positive cases in March has been locked down since early April by a Directive from the Prime Minister. Hanoians can only go out for essential activities such as health care or buying foods and meeting of more than 10 people is not allowed. Moreover, municial police has right to fine people who dont wear face masks or can not justify their reasons of going outside. The total number of positive patients is within the control of authorities. We can add Paris, London, New York, Sydney onto the already long list of cities where control measures are being applied.

On the other hand, lockdown has been causing many difficulties for people's lives. Unemployment and partly employment, have been very popular. In Hanoi for example, being considered as non-essential, hotel, restaurant, gym station, non-food shops, public transport have been all closed for the last two weeks, which resulted in job loss, no or reduced income of their workers. People in informal sectors, who can be a street vendors, no-contract construction workers, motobike taxi drivers, are the most affected sinece they are not protected by a social program or network.Total ban of travel and transport from province to province and even from coutry to country has totally broken the supply chains of many sectors. No inputs for production and no way to export their goods pushed companies closer to bankrupcy. In addition, social researchers reported anecdotal evidence of social issues caused by long time school closure for children, limited social interaction, more gender-based violence in family. Following recent movement in USA, where President Trump plans the country reopening, social researchers, economists, business sectors, Key Opinion Leaders on social networks are advocating for easing administrative measures in big cities of Hanoi, Hochiminh City, Da Nang. Doctors however still advise that social distancing, handwashing continue to be key measures to deal with the virus. I share the view that supports partial restriction for high-risk sectors and areas with gradual reopening in other places.

In conclusion, coronavirus is changing the world we are living in today. Measures by Government and individuals to deal with the disaster need to balance people's health safety and economic recovery.