People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Upon commencing a new life in a foreign country, people often face a dilemma of whether they should stick to their cultural values or adhere to the local lifestyle. Although living up to the standards of one’s cultural background is legitimate on a certain level, I still believe that adaptation to the host country’s traditional practices is sorely essential to immigrants.

On the one hand, I agree that under various circumstances the adoption of new ways of living seems to be a headache, especially when it comes to long-standing values and religious matters. For example, an Asian family who has moved to the US would find public kissing highly inappropriate as they were taught how to express their emotions differently during their early phase of childhood. Such a standard has been profoundly imprinted on their minds and can hardly be compromised. Additionally, the existence of unique cultural beauty within immigrants’ communities would be put at stake. When people are exposed to foreign lifestyles every day, there is a chance of complete cultural assimilation which potentially leads to the disappearance of traditional beliefs and behaviors among certain groups of expatriates.

On the other hand, I am inclined to the idea of immigrants’ adjustment to their way of living in order to fit in the local community. The first point worthy of note is that such adaptation would help those people integrate more quickly into the new setting. Obviously if a person leads a bizarre lifestyle, he will not be able to get on well with his neighbors. Compliance with the host nation’s social norms and conventions can also eradicate the worry of social conflicts. Expatriates who are unwilling to adhere to the new cultural ideas and behaviors might have to face the hostility from the locals and suffer from the sense of isolation from society.

In the light of both possible responses to such the matter of cultural adherence from immigrants as analyzed above, it seems to me that expatriates should learn to adapt themselves to live in harmony in the exotic community by complying with its traditional conventions.